top of page
Search

Smell Like Smoke: A Prayer for my/The Church

Updated: Mar 15, 2019


Cigar smoke?!? Possibly… but oh how I mean so much more.


… I was lying on my couch the other night. Just trying to unwind after a long day. (One of them 14 hour days Pastors do, but it wasn’t Sunday, so it didn’t count.) I put on a film that I had never watched, but always wanted too…


Hacksaw Ridge.


Take this next part however you like. I know some folks theological paradigms don’t allow for it. Some will just suggest Jesus is everywhere. That is fine. This was different. As I was watching, Jesus himself, decided to join me. I swear to you, He was right there on the other couch in our living room. It was as real for me as watching Survivor on a Wednesday night with my wife. His feet were up like mine... just taking a break… well perhaps like me… but not at all… cause God doesn’t get to clock out like I was…


The film got to this scene (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRX_6Lb4BBU), where Desmond Doss, a conscientious objector, in WW2, amidst some the most horrific of circumstances imaginable, as a medic, who refuses to fight, begins rescuing wounded soldiers from the battle field. At that moment, he says, “Please Lord, help me get one more, help me get one more.”

Then he gets one, then another, and another, and yet another… on and on this goes.


My soul began to reverberate within my weak and frail flesh…


My spirit knew in an instant I was no longer watching by myself… Jesus was literally there with me.


At that moment, He popped up, grabbed my shirt and shook me violently, (like how a big brother would to his littler counterpart), ensuring I did not miss what I was about to see.


Call me crazy, I don’t care, I watched a movie with Jesus this week and I have not stopped thinking about it.


God Himself joined me.


As we watched I saw portrayed better than I ever have before, amidst the horror of WW2, the real purpose of Jesus’ Church…


“Please Lord, help me get one more, help me get one more.”


WOW!


I literally have not stopped praying that all week.


Church. My church, your church, any Christ-centered church who may stumble across these simple thoughts…


Please Lord, help us get one more!!!


To be clear, this means we have to smell like smoke. Different, but not unlike Mr. Doss. Don’t believe me, read Jude 22 & 23 – … show mercy to those whose faith is wavering. Rescue others by snatching them from the flames of judgement.


If we are going to rescue anyone from the flame, WE HAVE TO SMELL LIKE SMOKE.


The stench of the battlefield is going to be all over us.


Oh Lord,

I plead with You,

I beg of You,

help me get one more…

anytime, anywhere, anyhow.


Praying my/The Church smells a lot more like smoke this weekend, and in the days and weeks to come.

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page