top of page
Search

Enough: A Lesson in Keeping My Kids Happy


I don’t care how you spin it; Flat Out, we live in a culture of excess!!!


I have bought into the false narrative that I not only want more, I need more. I have done so way more than I am willing to admit. Likely, even way more than I realize. Worst of it, I know it will only take days for me to slide right back into this upon returning from our families current adventure, where we are building a home for a single mom in rural Mexico, near the city of Ensenada.


How do I know this:

I already dropped $60 on Avengers Endgame tickets… a movie that is not even out for another week, aaaaand I will no doubt over indulge as I take in the latest Marvel spectacle.

Why the over indulging, because I am going with my kids, whom I want to make happy…

This is what dads do with their kids at the movies…

And happy kids are a mark of a good dad…

Right???


Today though, my kids were happy.


In a rural village… that many of us would refer to as a slum. We called it a Migrant Camp… we took time to be with some families who have virtually nothing.

The smell of their neighbourhood was much like my local garbage dump. (Although it would be easier to live in my local garbage dump as it organized and kept meticulously by the care taker.)

Anyways, it was here, I could see my kids were happy.


I don’t ever want to forget that.

I don’t ever want to forget tonight.

As a tucked my boys in to bed, we re-capped our day.

One said, “you know dad, I can play with kids, even when they don’t know me.”

The other said, “and when we don’t speak the same language.”

Then they both said, “even when all we have is rocks.”


A Couple Rocks + Child Like Love of God = Happiness


We live in a culture of excess, where keeping our kids happy is dang near impossible.

Enough is Enough.

For me.

And for my kids.


A Couple Rocks + Child Like Love of God = Happiness




…$10 popcorn anyone?

201 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page